Wet Tropics of Queensland

The Wet Tropics of Queensland World Heritage Site consists of approximately 8,940 km² of Australian wet tropical forests growing along the north-east Queensland portion of the Great Dividing Range, stretching from Townsville to Cooktown, running in close parallel to the Great Barrier Reef (another world heritage site).

The Wet Tropics of Queensland were also added to the Australian National Heritage List in May 2007.


Among the National Parks included within the Wet Tropics are:

  • Barron Gorge National Park
  • Black Mountain (Kalkajaka) National Park
  • Cedar Bay National Park
  • Daintree National Park
  • Girringun National Park
  • Wooroonooran National Park

and over 700 protected areas including privately-owned land.


The site contains many unique features such as over 390 rare plant species, which includes 74 species that are threatened. There are at least 85 species that are endemic to the area, 13 different types of rainforest and 29 species of mangrove, which is more than anywhere else in the country.

Niciun comentariu:

Trimiteți un comentariu