Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site

The Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site is located in the Canadian Rockies. It consists of four national parks:

and three British Columbia provincial parks:

Hamber Provincial Park
Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Mount Robson Provincial Park

The parks include mountains, glaciers and hot springs and the headwaters of major North American river systems including:
North Saskatchewan River
Athabasca River
Columbia River
Fraser River

The area is known for its natural beauty and biological diversity. It includes the Burgess Shale site, a World Heritage Site in its own right from 1980 to 1990, when it was included in the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks WHS designation.

World Heritage Site

This area was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984 for the mountain landscapes containing mountain peaks, glaciers, lakes, waterfalls, canyons and limestone caves as well as fossils found here (see Burgess Shale).

Niciun comentariu:

Trimiteți un comentariu