Rapa Nui National Park

Rapa Nui National Park is a World Heritage Site located on Easter Island, Chile. The park is divided into seven sections:

Rano Kau (which includes Orongo)
Puna Pau (named after the quarry where the pukao were carved).
Rano Raraku (named after the quarry where most of the moai were carved).
Anakena - Ovahe
Ahu Akivi
Costa Norte
Hanga Roa (Urban Area).


The early history involves human settlement roughly one millennium before present. Subsequent human overpopulation and resultant deforestation led to collapse of the human society.Archaeological evidence of the earlier habitation consists of the moai themselves as well as the pollen and fossil records. Through these records, scientists have come to understand the role of a now extinct Rapa Nui Palm, which offered food, fuel and transport for the early settlers. Chile  first declared the island a National Park in 1935, and on 22 March 1996 UNESCO designated the island a World Heritage Site. Park boundaries have since varied on several occasions, to return land to the islanders.

Niciun comentariu:

Trimiteți un comentariu